European Humanism and Its Challenges - Conference in Ljubljana

September 17, 2017

The Department of Medieval Studies at CEU had a strong presence at the International Symposium on European Humanism and Its Challenges, which took place in Ljubljana on September 8 and 9, 2017.

New course offered in the field of literature and textual criticism

September 7, 2017

We are delighted and excited to announce the launching of a brand new, two-term course Texting: Approaches to Medieval and Early Modern Literature 1 hosted by the Medieval Studies Department in Fall and Winter Terms 2017/2018.

With a focus on the medieval and early modern period, the course is open to MA students as well as PhD students in any field, who are interested in the analysis and interpretation of texts, especially literary sources.

Practices of Coexistence

The volume Practices of Coexitence: Constructions os of the Other in Early Modern Perceptions, published at CEU Press in 2017, features contributions by Medieval Studies alumni. The book is edited by Marcell Sebők (departmental faculty) and Marianne D. Birnbaum (the department's frequent visiting professor).

Conference call in landscape archaeology (for Hungarian speakers)

July 21, 2017

For Hungarian speakers

Konferencia felhívás

Történeti táj – tájrégészet: eredmények és perspektívák a magyarországi tájrégészeti kutatásban

2017. november 2-3.

MTA Humán Tudományok Kutatóháza, 1097 Budapest, Tóth Kálmán u. 4

Jelentkezési határidő: 2017. augusztus 31.

További részletekért ld. a csatolt dokumentumot.

Exhibition - Peter Meller, artist and art historian

June 14, 2017

The late art historian Peter Meller, professor emeritus at the University of California, Santa Barbara, used to act as a regular visiting faculty at our department. It was our pleaseure to learn that an exhibition of his prints will be launched on June 22 in the Hungarian National Gallery, titled "Passion and Irony: Peter Meller and the Graphic of Imagination".